Chocolate Mint Is Only Part Of It

I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be awake, so even though there were many other notable and good things to write about this weekend, I’m going to start with the most important event: I made chocolate and fresh mint cookies! Another farmer gave me all of her left over herb bunches after market on Saturday, including lemon, lime and Thai basil, and mint. At first I thought I’d make some sun tea lemonade with lemon and lime basil, mint and honey, and I still want to try that. However, I love mint and chocolate, and I thought surely a body could put fresh mint in a cookie, right? I eventually found this lady’s culinary blog and her recipe for chocolate and fresh mint cookies! I used to do a lot of baking, mostly before college. I did crazy things, like triple layered cakes from Bon Appetit. This recipe, though, is the best I’ve met. So much chocolate and mint! Whoa. I took the farmer some cookies, and turns out the mint she gave me is a variety called Chocolate Mint. Some things are meant to be.

So, even though these cookies are already photo documented on the original creator’s blog, I couldn’t control myself from documenting my own process, and might as well post photos of chocolate.

FRESH MINT!

Mounds of chocolate!

Completed cookie! Mint specks!

whoa

I don’t know what got into me yesterday, but before the cookies, I made cornbread and ate it with kale for dinner. On a baking kick, I guess.

Skillet Cornbread!

Kale!

The whole weekend was really good. Friday, I went to Asheville to see one of my cousins! Saturday’s market was really good. The farmers took the weekend off and left us interns in charge. They always go to market with us, but it was just me and another intern this time. I even got to drive the stick shift truck! Being trusted with market is sort of a coming of age experience on the farm. I feel really comfortable at the Sylva market now. I finally feel capable of talking coherently about everything. Mostly though, I’m really enjoying the people there, vendors and shoppers alike.

I got to hang out in the Jackson County Library for a couple hours after market, too. What a place.

Today, I got to spend nearly the whole day with a couple of musicians and their 4-year-old. I’m playing with them at a restaurant in Cullowhee, Tuesday. They play Irish music, primarily. I had a great time with them.

This entry was published on July 22, 2012 at 11:55 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Mint Is Only Part Of It

  1. Elizabeth on said:

    I’m so glad you are getting back into baking!!! (though mostly for selfish reasons) Could you really taste the mint in the cookies? or is it more subtle when it bakes?

Leave a Reply

